Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education

ARE 4.0 Exam Information and Related Articles

ARE 4.0 Exam Information—Brightwood Architecture Education

Select the article you are looking for below:

ARE 4.0 Overview

Since the State of Illinois first pioneered the practice of licensing architects in 1897, architectural licensing has been increasingly adopted as a means to protect the public health, safety, and welfare. Today, the United States and Canadian provinces require licensing for individuals practicing architecture.

ARE 4.0 Exam Format

The ARE consists of seven divisions. The exams consist of multiple-choice questions as well as a graphic vignette. Schematic Design is a vignette exam only.

ARE 4.0 Question Formats

It is important for exam candidates to familiarize themselves not only with exam content, but also with question format. Familiarity with the basic question types found in the ARE will reduce confusion, save time, and help you pass the exam.

Recommendations on Exam Division Order

NCARB allows candidates to choose the order in which they take the exams, and the choice is an important one. While only you know what works best for you, the following are some general considerations that many have found to be beneficial.

ARE 4.0 product access will expire on June 30, 2018.